My Top 10 Time Management Tips for Killing It As A Girl Boss (Plus An Inside Look Into Smile Brilliant!)

Lee el post en: Español

Hello, beauties! I hope your holiday season is going amazing and that you had a wonderful and blessed Christmas full of joy and love. 

This time of year is especially busy, and as a blogger and entrepreneur, I spend a lot of time working at home, running my biz, taking photos, doing house chores, and making sure everything runs as smoothly as possible. That’s why it’s so important to learn optimal time management skills…or things would get pretty crazy, pretty fast! (Nothing that a break for some rosé and macarons couldn’t fix, of course!)

So, how do you manage to keep your cool and juggle your endless to-do list without burning out? Here’s some of the absolute best time-management tips I’ve learned these past few years as a business owner and previous remote-working employee:

  1. Morning routines are ESSENTIAL!

I’m NOT a morning person, and often thrive as a night owl. What I’ve found is having a short morning routine is key for setting up a productive and successful day.
Wake up at the same time every morning, and brew up your favorite cup of coffee or tea. Set aside some time to catch up on your favorite news sites or blogs to feel informed and excited to start the day. Before you know it, you’ll stop dreading the alarm in the morning and start looking forward to jumping out of bed!

  1. Dress Up and Show Up!

Whether you have multiple client meetings on your schedule, or your only interaction for the day is with your cat, change out of your PJ’s and into an outfit that makes you feel ready to tackle the day. You don’t need to break out the pencil skirt and blazer (there’s a reason you left that 9-5, remember?) but wearing clothes that make you feel put together and polished have a huge impact on how productive you are for the day! Another perk: you’ll be ready to walk out the door for that last-minute client meeting across town!

SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles

  1. Create a Designated #GirlBoss Workspace

This is your space to crush your goals and kill it in your biz! Pick a quiet spot where you’re able to focus on work without too many distractions. Next, keep it clutter-free and decorate it with pretty workspace essentials that motivate you to push towards your goals. Try to avoid the couch or your uber-comfortable bed, since you’ll likely be tempted to doze off every time you take a break!

 

  1. Variety Keeps Ideas Fresh

It’s important to switch up your surroundings once or twice a week to keep boredom at bay. Head to your favorite coffee shop or café, and watch your inspiration ignite in a different setting. The interactions (and maybe even networking!) with others will refresh your mind and spirits...and it doesn’t hurt to reward yourself with a delicious, frothy latte!

  1. Get in the Zone

Identify when you’re most productive during the day. For me, I’m most productive in the early morning or later at night, so I plan my day accordingly. Get as much done as possible during those hours and run errands in between. You’ll see the difference in your work, attitude, and stress level when you find what time works best for you when accomplishing tasks.

  1. Plan It Out

Whether you’re a pen-to-paper kinda gal or a Google Calendar ninja, scheduling your tasks and assignments is super important to keeping your sanity and reaching success as a #girlboss. I can’t stress this enough because it can be really easy to miss important deadlines when you don’t plan for it. Write everything down and include details. I personally love planning everything in my Simplified Planner and taking notes in Evernote that are synced across all my devices.

SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles

  1. Schedule “You” Time!

Each day, find the time to do something that you like and enjoy that isn’t work related. It can be anything from catching up with a friend, taking your dog for a walk, reading your favorite blog, or just enjoying your passion project. Saving a little time for yourself every day keeps your mind clear and stress levels low, resulting in better work when your break is over. Do you, girl!

  1. Nourish Your Body!

A girl’s gotta eat! Being an entrepreneur can be ultra time consuming, and we often choose the quickest, unhealthy foods, or forget to eat altogether. Try prepping your meals for the workweek ahead of time so you always have something fresh, healthy, and nourishing to keep your body energized and your mind bright. I like to cook protein in the oven or my slow cooker and freeze it (or put it in the fridge for up to three days) and pre-cut some veggies to have them ready. Trust me on this, you’ll be amazed of how much time you’ll save, and how good you’ll feel.
SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles

  1. Don’t Forget About Self-Care

This is seriously so important and often neglected, especially by “Wonder Woman” girl-bosses like us! Take some time for yourself and get pampered every so often. A massage, a mani-pedi, some Netflix time, or journaling are all fantastic ways to prioritize your wellbeing. Whatever makes you feel relaxed and at ease will help you maintain a sense of balance, and will make being an entrepreneur feel less overwhelming.
SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles

  1. Last But Not Least, Smile!!

You read that right, girl! Your smile can open doors for you and a good laugh is always contagious. Don’t take yourself too seriously and enjoy life and the freedom of working from home. Feel less than confident about your smile? Try giving your pearly whites a boost with Smile Brilliant! I used their time-saving at-home whitening system to brighten my smile and I’m absolutely so happy I gave it a try. Curious to find out more about my whitening journey? Keep reading below!

Being a #GirlBoss is a true full-time job that can get a little crazier that you think but there are some things that you can do to manage your time more efficiently. From having a morning routine, designating a workspace and planning everything out to treating yourself now and then. These are simple tips that can make a world of a difference in your productivity. Oh and of course, don’t forget to smile, you never know whose day you'll brighten up!

If you want a brilliant smile, make sure to enter my giveaway below!

In the past, I tried professional whitening at my dentist, which was expensive, time consuming, and made my teeth very sensitive. So when Smile Brilliant reached out and told me about their at-home whitening solution, I knew I had to try it.

So how does it work?

First, Smile Brilliant sent me a kit that included everything I needed to make my dental impressions, or a mold of my teeth. Then, I sent them to their lab in a pre-paid shipping envelope, and five days later I got my custom whitening trays that fit my teeth perfectly.

SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles
I did about eight or nine sessions in a three-week period and was amazed at how easy and effective it is to whiten your teeth at home! Here are my results so you can see for yourself!
SmileBrilliant Review Before and After - Lace and Sparkles

Smile Brilliant kits include both whitening and desensitizing gel syringes that last about three to four applications each.

SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles
Teeth Whitening Step-by-Step:

  1. Brush teeth with water (not toothpaste, the fluoride can actually slow the whitening process).
  2. Whiten for 45 minutes-3 hours. Because I have sensitive teeth I only did 45-50 minutes each session but still got amazing results! If you can leave them on a bit longer (no more than 3 hours) by all means, give it a try! Just be careful with the drooling! Sounds funny but you’ll start salivating more than usual so just have a small towel close and you’ll be fine.
  3. Brush teeth with a non-whitening toothpaste as normal.
  4. Rinse trays out with water and dry them as much as you can. I like using a Q-tip to dry them more thoroughly.
  5. Apply desensitizing gel on your trays and wear them for an additional 15-30 minutes.

    SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles

  6. Remove trays, but do not rinse your mouth or brush your teeth, just spit it out so you can leave a thin layer of desensitizing gel on your teeth. Avoid drinking or eating for the next 30-60 minutes.

And you’re ready to go and conquer the world with your best and brightest smile!

But there's more! Because I know you want to start off the new year right, I've partnered with Smile Brilliant to offer a free teeth whitening kit to one of my readers ✨ All you have to do is enter the giveaway here. One lucky winner will receive a $139 Smile Brilliant credit to get their very own custom kit! Just make sure to enter now because this giveaway ends on January 5th, 2017 and is open to USA, UK, Australia and Canadian residents.

"Girl, but I need to start my teeth whitening journey like right now". No worries girl, I gotcha! That's why I also have a special code for you. Just enter laceandsparkles15 when checking out at Smile Brilliant's website and get 15% off your order! 😍 

SmileBrilliant Review - Lace and Sparkles

What do you guys think about these #GirlBoss tips?, What else would you add?

Also, if you have any questions regarding my teeth whitening process with Smile Brilliant, please don't hesitate to ask. I'm always happy to help!

*Thank you Smile Brilliant for sponsoring this post! As always, all opinions are my own. 


Tooth Whitening Gel

Follow:
Share:

THIS POST WAS SPONSORED BY SMILE BRILLIANT. AS ALWAYS, ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED HERE ARE MY OWN.

73 Comments

  1. December 29, 2017 / 11:29 am

    I used Smile Brilliant to whiten my teeth and I loved the results! I actually need to do a touch up so I’ll be treating myself to some self care this weekend. Teeth whitening and Netflix haha.

    • December 30, 2017 / 3:56 pm

      Haha I love that Netflix + teeth whitening kinda day! I’ll probably do the same!

  2. December 29, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    I love your tips! Self care is my #1 for sure! Also, I’ve heard wonderful things about Smile Brilliant!

    • December 30, 2017 / 3:54 pm

      Thanks so much for checking out my post, Angeli! You should definitely give Smile Brilliant a try! They’re amazing!!

  3. December 30, 2017 / 11:37 am

    I love these tips. I’m trying to get my “plan of action” together for the New Year and this was super helpful. Thank you!

    • December 30, 2017 / 3:54 pm

      Thanks so much Ivy, I’m glad you liked them! Let’s crush all those goals in 2018!!

  4. December 30, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    These are all such lovely reminders! Such a great start to a new year! Thanks girl!

  5. January 1, 2018 / 11:00 am

    Such great tips, thanks for sharing! Totally getting dressed and being ready is key for me for sure! As much as I love my leggings, if I actually get dressed I feel more motivated!

    • January 1, 2018 / 10:30 pm

      I’m glad you liked it, Nicole! And yes, it can be so easy to just stay in your PJs or leggings all day (specially during the cold months haha). Happy New Year!

  6. January 1, 2018 / 11:46 am

    Thank you for sharing these reminders and I will be sure to change up my rountine with blogging. I have never tried Smile Brilliant and I heard amazing things about them! Will keep it in mind. Happy New Year❤️

    • January 1, 2018 / 10:24 pm

      I’m so glad you like them and yes, it’s always good to change things up. Hope you have an amazing 2018, Helena!!

  7. January 1, 2018 / 1:57 pm

    love this post! all your tips are so great, especially your self care one! it’s easy to forget sometimes. happy new year! xx

  8. Sydney
    January 1, 2018 / 8:15 pm

    I love these tips! Especially #2.

  9. January 1, 2018 / 10:21 pm

    Nice tips to stay focused. I especially like that you have a few focusing on self care, which is so important. Best wishes for a fabulous 2018! Keep up the good work!

    • January 1, 2018 / 10:32 pm

      I’m glad you liked them Wendi! And I agree, it’s so easy to forget about self care with everything we usually have on our to-do lists. Have a wonderful New Year, dear!!

  10. January 2, 2018 / 3:41 am

    Love this post girl, and awesome tips!! Also, your teeth look great, I’ll have to try this one out!

    Kileen
    cute & little

    • January 2, 2018 / 5:51 pm

      Thanks so much, Kileen! Glad you liked it and don’t forget to enter my giveaway 🙂

  11. Nataly
    January 2, 2018 / 7:37 am

    I love your tips! Thank you so much for sharing! Hope you had a great New Year!

  12. January 2, 2018 / 8:00 am

    I love your desk set up – SO CUTE. No wonder you’re so productive!!!

    • January 2, 2018 / 5:50 pm

      Thanks so much, Taylor! I truly believe that all the pretty things make me more productive haha Now if only I could paint those walls in white!

  13. January 2, 2018 / 1:45 pm

    Love your tips, especially the ones about nourishing your body and switching up your surroundings. Also – your laptop cover is SO cute!! 🙂

    • January 2, 2018 / 5:50 pm

      So glad you liked my post, Traci! It’s so easy to forget about a balanced diet with our endless to-do lists haha And my laptop cover is from CaseApp 🙂 You can customize it or even upload your own design!

  14. January 2, 2018 / 2:44 pm

    These are such amazing tips and I will definitely be using them going into the new year! Xo

  15. Stephanie
    January 2, 2018 / 5:03 pm

    These are definitely tips that I try to follow on a daily basis! I absolutely love this post and how inspiring it is! And oh my lands your teeth look incredible!

    • January 2, 2018 / 5:48 pm

      I’m so glad you liked it, Stephanie! Time management is definitely a work in progress haha

  16. Tonya
    January 2, 2018 / 6:56 pm

    Ah yes! Netflix is a MUST! Also, creating your own space really is SO essential! If you are at home that often, you have got to have your own office! love this!

    • January 4, 2018 / 1:53 am

      Exactly!! Even if you live in a small space, you can always find a way to make it feel yours! Thanks for reading my post, Tonya!

  17. January 2, 2018 / 7:20 pm

    I am loving these tips! I need to work onmy GirlBoss desk!

    love,
    Britt+Whit

    • January 4, 2018 / 1:52 am

      Thanks so much, Whit! And yes, I totally believe that a cute and tidy workspace makes a difference in how productive we are. Plus, another reason to get all the cute stuff haha

  18. Angela
    January 2, 2018 / 10:35 pm

    These tips are awesome and a great reminder of ways that we can work smarter not harder! Thanks for sharing!

  19. January 2, 2018 / 11:36 pm

    These are such great tips! I struggle with waking up earlier because I thrive at nighttime. I am totally trying to become a morning person in 2018.

    -xo, Azanique | http://www.lotsofsass.com

  20. January 3, 2018 / 2:33 am

    You have some fabulous tips here and I am in love with your work-space! Me time so important to stay focused.

    • January 4, 2018 / 1:55 am

      Thanks so much, Neha! Hope these tips were useful! And now if only I could paint those walls in white haha

  21. January 3, 2018 / 2:46 am

    This is a great time management for a girl boss. These are definitely useful! I truly love this post!

  22. January 3, 2018 / 5:48 am

    I love these!! Sometimes I don’t change out of my PJs and it makes me just want to crawl back in bed, so this is definitley a great reminder that your outfit can totally change your mindset!

    • January 4, 2018 / 2:00 am

      Thanks so much, Kristiana! I’m so glad that you found my tips useful. I’ve done the PJs thing a couple of times before so I had to learn the hard way haha

  23. Kathryn
    January 3, 2018 / 10:21 am

    Such a great post, I love using Evernote!

    • January 4, 2018 / 1:56 am

      Thanks so much for reading it, Kathryn! And yes, Evernote has been such a lifesaver!

  24. January 3, 2018 / 11:56 am

    I love these tips. Right now the office is not set up (we just moved) and I am seriously struggling with it! Once it is done, I can’t wait to create new blog posts in here!

    • January 4, 2018 / 1:58 am

      Thanks, Amanda! I’m so happy to read that you found these tips useful. And moving is always a struggle but once you get everything set up I’m sure you’ll be able to work in a beautiful workspace!

  25. January 3, 2018 / 12:46 pm

    Trying Smile Brilliant soon and I’m so excited!

  26. January 3, 2018 / 5:24 pm

    Great tips! Time management is definitely one of my weaknesses. Something I’m hoping to correct in 2018. 🙂

  27. January 4, 2018 / 1:49 pm

    These are great tips! I loved my Smile Brilliant results too!

    • January 5, 2018 / 1:17 am

      Thanks Josie! And I can’t wait to keep using Smile Brilliant to see even more amazing results!

  28. January 4, 2018 / 3:03 pm

    ahhh i love these! totally agree on self care and nourishing the body! Otherwise i get sluggish and can’t function at my best and it ends up killing my time management!

    • January 5, 2018 / 1:16 am

      Exactly!! I was feeling just like and then I was like “NOPE, back to the good habits” haha Thanks for reading, Rachel!

  29. January 4, 2018 / 4:45 pm

    Awesome! Awesome! All great tips! Over the last year, I have really come to notice that a morning routine is indeed essential. I am definitely not a morning person either. But I find that getting up early and having a few morning rituals really put my day on the right track! I have been slacking on this and hitting the snooze for a while. I need to get back to my routine!
    I also need to find my #GirlBoss space. I have been trying to figure out where the best place for me is.

    • January 5, 2018 / 1:15 am

      I’m so glad you found these tips useful, Payton! I agree that it can be really hard for us night owls to stick to a morning routine but it’s well worth it! Hope you can find your #GirlBoss space soon and make it your own!!

  30. January 4, 2018 / 5:29 pm

    So nice, I pinned it too! I can’t live without Evernote and my paper planner either! It’s a one-two productivity punch!

  31. sharon wu
    January 4, 2018 / 11:07 pm

    These tips are definitely useful for time management for any entrepreneur. Nourishing our bodies is #1 — without good health we can’t accomplish anything! Happy new year darling xo, sharon

    http://www.stylelullaby.com/creative/calvin-baby/

  32. January 8, 2018 / 7:14 am

    Having a designated girlboss work space is SO important in being able to get things done! If I have a clean, quiet, and aesthetically pleasing place to work I am 100% more productive. Great tips!

    • January 9, 2018 / 3:46 pm

      Couldn’t agree more! It’s so important to find a space where you can truly focus and get things done. Thanks for reading, Christina!

  33. January 9, 2018 / 8:21 pm

    This is SUCH a helpful post – thank you so much for sharing. I have bee so burnt out recently and really needed this reminder. I also love what you said about switching up your environment!

    • January 10, 2018 / 2:43 pm

      I’m glad that you found these tips helpful, Elly! 🙂 Thanks so much for reading!

  34. January 15, 2018 / 6:51 pm

    I love your tips! I need to improve #3 and I totally agree with your with every signed point! Such a brilliant post ! X

  35. January 17, 2018 / 9:46 am

    Love this!!! Great post. I currently have Monday to Friday off (only work Friday, Saturday Sunday) so most of my weekdays are dedicated to blogging and I agree, when I sleep in and stay in my PJ’s I don’t get anything done!!
    SO I get up at 7:30 am, shower, do my makeup and dress as I would go to an office (plus slippers. haha). I also schedule my lunch and breakfast times otherwise I would totally forget to eat. And when my boyf comes home, I most times end my day (close my laptop). It’s really important I believe. Thank’s for sharing xxx

  36. Mary
    February 3, 2018 / 3:57 pm

    I also am using smile brilliant and have been pretty happy with the results! 10x better than anything else I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.